The Delaware County Juvenile Court has a specialized docket for Juvenile Sex offenders. This docket allows for specially trained personnel to deal with a juvenile adjudicated as delinquent for a sex offense. Juveniles, who remain in the community, will have a safety plan to provide adequate supervision of the juvenile and protection for the victim and the community as a whole.

Juveniles adjudicated for a sexual offense are referred for a sex offender assessment. The purpose of the assessment is to determine appropriate recommendations for treatment. These recommendations are specifically designed to assist in determining the juveniles’ level of risk and needs. The probation department will impose a wide range of individualized conditions; these are monitored for compliance.

Juvenile sex offenders are required to participate in individual and or group therapy. Group therapy is co-facilitated by two therapists and a probation officer. The co-facilitation model strives to provide an early intervention if a juvenile is not adhering to the Court ordered conditions.

Juvenile sex offenders may be classified and required to register as a sexually oriented offender. This classification is based on the type of offense and the age of the offender at the time of the offense was committed.

 


Registration Requirements

 

The State of Ohio legislatively established sex offender classification requirements for juveniles beginning January 1, 2002. The laws underwent substantial changes in mid-2007 in response to the federal government’s passage of the Adam Walsh Act.
The following information is a very basic outline of the Ohio’s complex Juvenile Sex Offender Registration and Notification law. Contact the juvenile’s attorney for a more thorough explanation regarding how the JSORN law may impact your child.

 

Ohio Revised Code 2152.82

  • 14, 15, 16, and 17 year old juvenile offenders with a prior sex offense conviction regardless of the juveniles age at the time of the first offense
  • Mandatory Classification

 

Ohio Revised Code 2152.83 (A)

  • 16, 17 year old juvenile offender with no prior sex offense conviction
  • Mandatory Classification

 

Ohio Revised Code 2152.83 (B)

  • 14, 15 year old juvenile offender with no prior sex offense conviction
  • Classification is at the discretion of the Court

 

Juveniles who’s age is 13 or younger are not eligible for classification.