General Questions

  • Arrive on time. The Court schedules hearings to begin on time. Make sure to allocate time to park, process through security, and meet with your attorney or other court personnel prior to your hearing time.
  • Dress appropriately. No tank tops, flip flops, hats, low-cut shirts, skirts, or shorts.
  • Unless small children will be testifying at the hearing, do not bring them.
  • Turn off cell phones.
  • If you have police reports, medical reports, photos or other evidence, bring it with you to your hearing.
  • The Court maintains jurisdiction over individuals who committed offenses under the age of 18 for the duration of the case.
  • Adults who have been charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor are also required to appear.

Billing and Payments FAQ

To ensure that the payment is applied correctly, please include the case number and the fees that the funds are to be applied.

Itemized bills can be printed upon request. You can request this in person at the Delaware County Juvenile Court in the clerks office during normal court hours or via phone by calling 740-833-2600.

If you have any questions regarding a bill that was received please contact the main Juvenile Court telephone line at 740-833-2600.

Records FAQ

Please visit the records department of the Delaware County Juvenile Court or contact the office directly at 740-833-2667.

There are specific requirements sealing and expungement of records. The Court can provide a blank form to apply.

A sealed record is set aside and can be reviewed only under certain limited circumstances. An expunged record is permanently deleted and cannot be retrieved.

If your record is expunged or sealed, persons requesting information about your record will be told that no record exists.

Delinquent and/or Unruly FAQ

Juveniles held in detention are generally held at the Central Ohio Youth Center. A hearing will be scheduled at the Delaware County Juvenile Court to review the detention of your child. Please contact the Court with any questions as to the time and location of the hearing.

Information regarding visiting your child in detention, as well as other general information about COYC can be found here:


Traffic FAQ

Most juvenile traffic offenses require a personal appearance. In the instance that the offense doesn’t require a personal appearance the Juvenile Court will contact the juvenile and parents directly.

The Juvenile Court maintains jurisdiction over offenses that happened prior to the age of 18.

If a driving course is court ordered it is required to be completed; failure to do so could result in an additional hearing being scheduled or other actions taken by the Court.

An attorney is not required, however if you would like to speak to an attorney you have the right to do so.


Adult Contributing FAQ

The Delaware County Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over adults who are charged with contributing to the unruliness or delinquency of a child (Ohio Revised Code 2919.24).

In Ohio a minor is considered anyone under the age of 18.

The most extreme penalties the Court could order upon an adult charged with the unruliness or delinquency of a child is a fine of up to $1,000 and/or 6 months of incarceration. Other forms of sentencing orders can include, but are not limited to, community control sanctions fines and community service hours.

Victim Services FAQ

Complete the petition on your own or with an attorney or the assistance of the Delaware County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office Victim Services Unit. To make an appointment or for attorney referrals please contact the Victim Services Unit at 740-833-2710.