Hours of Operation:
8:30 AM to 4:30 PM Monday thru Friday

 

The Delaware County Juvenile Court has exclusive jurisdiction to hear all cases of juveniles issued a traffic citation in Delaware County as well as Juveniles who reside in Delaware County.

 

The Delaware County Juvenile Traffic Court handles cases involving persons who are under 18 years of age who are charged with offenses relating to the operation of motor vehicles, the use of state identification cards, and pedestrian safety.

Initial appearances in Juvenile Traffic Court are heard by a judge or magistrate who sits in session Thursday mornings at 8:30 AM and 10 AM. Sessions are run in a group setting.

The Juvenile Court possesses fairly broad discretion regarding dispositional alternatives for juvenile traffic offenders. Traditional sanctions range from the imposition of fines and costs to court imposed license suspensions of various types. Generally speaking, unlike adult traffic court, in most cases, the Juvenile Court is not empowered with the authority to incarcerate traffic offenders.

 

In addition to those traditional sanctions, the Juvenile Court also refers many juveniles to educational programs. Programs such as CARTEENS and The Driving Improvement Program are utilized regularly by the court to educate, assess, and intervene when needed to address problems identified in young drivers.

CARTEENS is a program supported by this court and developed jointly by The Ohio State University Extension Office, local 4-H clubs, and the Ohio Highway Patrol. CARTEENS is a program wherein teenagers present their peers with information relating to driving safety in a group-meeting setting.

 

The Driving Improvement Program is an all-day class presented by the Bloom School of Driving Dynamix. This program is a unique driving school that provides drivers an opportunity to develop defensive driving and accident avoidance skills. This advanced driver training course is delivered by an instructor corps that includes retired Ohio State Highway Patrolmen and advanced driver training instructors. Registration without a referral from the juvenile court might exceed $300.00. If referred by the juvenile court is reduced significantly.

 


What to Expect

 

Standard Traffic Court Dispositions

The Delaware County Juvenile Court has exclusive jurisdiction to hear all cases of juveniles issued traffic citations in Delaware County. If you are under the age of eighteen years and received a traffic citation alleging that a traffic law, you may be eligible to waive the court appearance provided that the criteria is meet.

 

Waiver Criteria

  • There is no minimum age for waiving non-moving violations
  • The citation only contains Non-Moving Violations including but not limited to the following.
    • Failure to wear Seatbelt
    • Failure to Display Plates or Tags
    • Expired Plates or Tags
    • Riding a bicycle on Sidewalk
    • No Headlights or Taillights
      Window Tint Violation
    • Bumper Height
    • Fictitious Plates
    • Jay Walking
    • Skateboarding or Rollerblading on Sidewalk or Street
    • Muffler Violation
    • Unsafe Vehicle
    • Vehicle Lighting Violation
    • Other Equipment Violation
  • The following items must be turned in on or before the scheduled court date
    • Waiver, signed by the juvenile and parent, guardian or legal custodian.
    • Payment – cash or check made out to Delaware County Juvenile Court, credit card payments are accepted via www.officialpayments.com

If you are under the age of eighteen years and received a traffic citation alleging that a traffic law, that cannot be waived the standard disposition are as follows.

 

1st offense

  • Speeding
    • Fines in the amount of $1.00 per mile over the speed limit not to exceed 50.00
    • License suspension
      • 4 weeks without driving privileges or
      • 6 weeks with the privileges to drive for school and work.
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance to a driving course
  • Excessive Speed
    • Fines could increase to $2.00 per mile over the speed limit or more but not to exceed $50.00
    • License suspension
      • Could be more that 4 weeks without driving privileges or
      • 6 weeks with the privilege to drive for school and work
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance to a driving course
  • Other minor misdemeanor traffic offense
    • Fines in the amount of $10.00 may not to exceed 50.00
    • License suspension
      • 4 weeks without driving privileges or
      • 6 weeks with the privileges to drive for school and work.
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance to a driving course

 

2nd offense

  • Speeding
    • Fines in the amount of $2.00 per mile over the speed limit not to exceed 50.00
    • License suspension
      • 90 days with or without driving privileges
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance to an online remedial driving course
    • Order of attendance to a driving course
  • Excessive Speed
    • Fines could increase to $2.00 per mile over the speed limit or more but not to exceed $50.00
    • License suspension
      • 90 days with or without driving privileges
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance to an online remedial driving course
    • Order of attendance to a driving course
  • Other minor misdemeanor traffic offense
    • Fines in the amount of $20.00 not to exceed 50.00
    • License suspension
      • 90 days with or without driving privileges
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance to an online remedial driving course
    • Order of attendance to a driving course

 

3rd offense

  • Speeding
    • Fines in the amount of $50.00
    • License suspension
      • 365 days with or without driving privileges
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance tan a online remedial driving course
  • Excessive Speed
    • Fines in the amount of $50.00
    • License suspension
      • 365 days with or without driving privileges
    • $90.00 Court cost
    • Order of attendance to an online remedial driving course
  • Other minor misdemeanor traffic offense
    • Fines in the amount of $50.00
    • License suspension
      • 365 days with or without driving privileges
    • $90.00 Court cost

 

No license

  • Driving without a driver’s license- cannot apply for driver’s license or permit until 3 months after 16-Birthday.
  • $90.00 court cost
  • $50.00 fine

 

No License Second Offense

  • The juvenile could be placed in the Juvenile Detention Center for 3 days

 

OMVI offense

  • $50.00 fine
  • $90.00 court cost
  • 1-year license suspension with 6-month possible review, placed on probation, alcohol assessment, driver and family. (No school or work privileges).
  • Possible placement in a juvenile detention center for 3 days.

 

6 points offenses

  • $50.00 fine
  • $90.00 court cost
  • Offenses include fleeing, drag racing
  • 1-year license suspension-possible 6-month review
  • No driving privileges

 

Privileges

A juvenile may request privileges to work, school and to drive with a parent. If granted, the BMV receives a record and the juvenile is required to carry the documentation of the driving privileges with them while driving.

 


Juvenile Traffic Links

 

Ohio BMV

Carteens

Bloom School of Driving Dynamix

Franklin County CarTeens